Uncategorized

May12 I loved this perfect weather forecast for my birthday last week!
and even more exiting, we went to New York City!

Penn

This is the view from the cab leaving Penn station.  We flew into Newark (only just  over an hour from Toronto!).  Stepping out of Penn station, New York is RIGHT THERE! It is such a great first impression.  We arrived just in time for lunchat a funny diner, Big Daddy's,  (careful, there's music on this site!)
near to where we stayed.Paul loves his diners, and he researched a few
fantastic ones that we visited like The comfortand the Empire.

Of course, one of the first things I wanted to do was go here…Kinokuniya
Especially because I did not even know about it before Krissy went to NYC!
I was so exited, that I was just in freak out mode. 
Kino1
Look at this!  It is ALL the Jeu de Paumes books I have been drooling over online for ever.  RIGHT there, at my fingertips! Plus a million other crazy good eye candy books.   And then…

Kino2
 
MORE!  Sewing, crafting,  anything books.  Plus, bazillion more over on the left hand shelf.
It took all my power to not chatter inanely at the woman next to me.  Luckily she moved on promptly before I could embarrass myself and I was able to go through all the sewing books.  I ended up with two similar pattern books, ( I blame the enabler Paul who helpfully said "why not get two!" 🙂
and one cute decor one.  I went a little nuts.  But who cares! It was my birthday week and I was in New York!

Phew- we did SO much in 5 days, I will try and show you more in the coming days.
It was my 5th time visiting and it was the best trip there ever.  I think it is because we did research ahead of time and we are old enough to not feel dorky going to tourist attractions, which are such for a reason- they are impressive!

Now its back to work, but I hear they have a cake for me at work!  I love my co-workers!

Knitmafia

The knit mafia strikes in the lower east side.

Work is going to get busy soon, but stay tuned for more ! 
I will pop in when I can!

Standard

9 thoughts on “

  1. Anja says:

    Oh wow! How I wish it was me (and happy birthday!!) I’m going to London in a short while but (don’t tell the Brits) NYC is my true love (from afar, at the moment, though).

  2. Megan says:

    happy birthday! Looks like you had a great time. I can’t believe you only got 3 books at that shop – what restraint!

  3. krissy says:

    i’m laughing so hard at “total freakout mode”…so funny because i can so relate! that’s just how i felt. btw: i didn’t realize they moved to bryant park (or nearby) until i clicked that link. is that the one you went to?

    i’m so excited to hear more about your trip and see more pictures! i’m so glad you and paul had a wondeful time!!!

  4. karina says:

    oh, birthday week in NYC looks super duper
    WOOT!
    Plus, Cake upon your return (with tea, I’m sure)
    lucky you!

  5. Helen says:

    Woo hoo! I too have travel envy!

    Do tell all in the coming days so I can travel vicariously through you!

    Oh and happy late birthday!

    x Helen

  6. Sophie says:

    Last March I was in NYC staying close by Bryant Park, and I managed to miss that shop 😦 so sad… I’ll take good note of it, put money aside and next time I’ll make a Tania of myself, go crazy and buy a couple of books!!!

    Have a GREAT birthday!

  7. Anna says:

    Oh my gosh! If I ever go to that book shop, I will have to remember to bring two empty bags for the return trip — one for all the books I would buy, and the other to carry my exploded head back to Minnesota.

    Happy belated birthday!!

  8. Louise says:

    Happy (belated) birthday, Tania! Your time in New York sounds great – what a wonderful way to spend a birthday week! Hope you enjoyed your cake and that work goes well.

Leave a comment